Using The Five Love Languages to Support the People in Your Life

According to the author Gary Chapman, there are five love languages to which every human being responds to at least one of those.

The languages are gift giving, quality time, acts of service, physical touch, and words of affirmation. All of the languages are gender neutral and pretty stay consistent throughout a person’s lifetime.

Sometimes, however aging children or teenagers need the same love language shown in a different way. For example, tween and teen boys typically don’t like to be hugged or kissed, but wrestling, horseplay, or a pat on the shoulder still constitutes as physical touch if that’s how that child receives love.

With your loved ones always try to serve the other person and fill each other’s buckets. Pay attention to how your loved one expresses love and what they express they need more of.

Always put forth the effort even if your loved one’s language is difficult or different.

For more listen to the Keepin’ it Real With Keys podcast.


Achea Redd

Achea Redd

about the author

Achea Redd is a mental health advocate, author of “Be Free Be You” and founder of Real Girls F.A.R.T. — a space to empower and equip women with the necessary tools to use their voices and become their best, most authentic selves.

join the conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

What does
your voice
sound like?

Real Girls Fart-01_White

let’s figure it out
so you can let it out

Something went wrong. Please check your entries and try again.